DENVER bound!! #RoadTrip2013

Yep, you read that correctly, 2013 is shaping up to be pretty awesome.  I FINALLY will get to visit the city that I had hoped to live in since I was in grade school.  Ever since Patrick Roy was traded (I was in 6th grade and remember being told very vividly) I dreamed of living in the mile-high city.

I have never seen snow-capped mountains, in fact it wasn’t until 2007 that I saw the ocean – hey, these things are far away from Minnesota!

In my mind I was going to play hockey for the Avalanche and then in the summer play for the Chicago White Sox (sorry, Twins, but Robin Ventura was my favorite).  These dreams did not come true, but I will be living at least 1% of my dream by being able to visit the lovely city of Denver.

I will be traveling (by car) with my wife and my parents.  As you have probably been able to piece together by now, my anxiety heavily affects my travel habits.  I have a fear of flying.  My fear is mainly rooted in control and insecurities about death… but those issues are either for a separate article or personal conversation.  I’m an open book and if you want to know, just ask.  I think that talking about issues can shed a great light and help both parties.

So back to the Denver, and more specifically, the baseball part of this post.

I have always had this stadium/city high on my priority list, but since it is further away than say, Kansas City, Milwaukee, Chicago, etc., it was not my first to be crossed off the list.  When my dad mentioned that he’d like to show me the mountains a few weeks ago, I jumped on it and came up with the tentative plans of a road trip to Denver over the 4th of July.

The 4th provided the time period for maximized days off from work without taking vacation days for me and my wife.  Plus, when I researched it, I found out that the Rockies played their last game of a home stand on the 4th and would be having fireworks after the game.  As I enjoy taking photos, this added experience will provide an additional chance to get awesome game and mountain pictures.

So, what can you expect, dear reader?  Well, hopefully some “grade A” photos, a ball or two from the game (commemorative for the 20th season?), and a HUGE post – similar to the Kansas City trip last year.

What would I appreciate from you?  If you know of any way to get 4 tickets on the 1st base side (preferably close to the field), I would GREATLY appreciate it.  The 1st base side seems to offer the best angle for mountain pix, and since my parents are going with, I want to give them nice seats.  Plus, Cuddy plays right field, and I enjoyed him as a Twin, so I’d like to support him and shout “hello.”

 

Well, that’s it for now.  I am already incredibly pumped for this adventure.  A new stadium AND REAL mountains!!

 

(Thank you to my dad for mentioning that he wants to show me mountains.  It’s cool to know that he remembers those dreams I had as a kid.)

3 thoughts on “DENVER bound!! #RoadTrip2013

    • Best of luck and enjoy the trip to Seattle. I can’t wait to finally hit Seattle someday, too. As a music fan, there is plenty I’d like to see out there when not at a Mariners game.

  1. Pingback: The 2013 Baseball Season – A Year In Review (Picture Edition) « Plouffe's New Hairdo

Leave a Reply

