Twins Pitchers and Catchers Report – While I Will Be Reporting In March

So I guess it’s official, baseball season is HERE!!

In just over a month I will be witnessing some lovely warm-weather baseball first-hand.  I remember distinctly being in my young double-digits (10-13) and seeing the Twins highlights of spring training on St. Patrick’s Day, with them wearing green uniforms, and thinking that I would someday go down and watch them on St. Patty’s Day…

Well, that time has come!!  My dreams are coming true in 2013.  I told you about the Denver trip in yesterday’s post, and today I share with you the good news of St. Patty’s Day baseball!

I will be doing 5 games in 6 days, 3 of those games are in Fort Myers, 1 in Tampa, and 1 in Sarasota.  Needless to say, this is a baseball fan’s dream!  I would have made it 6 games in 6 days, but the only game going on in Fort Myers on my off day is the Red Sox/Yankees game… I am not paying that much premium to see this “rivalry” in Spring Training.  As much as I want to see Fenway-South, I cannot justify the cost.  Plus, it will be nice to have one off day, as I will probably need to catch up on sleep and just relax on a beach.

And yes, you guessed it, I will be driving down.  I plan on two 13 hour days of driving to complete the one-way trip.  My instagram account should really benefit from this change of scenery.  Also potentially benefiting from this trip, my donation size to “NAMI”.  If I can snag just 1 ball at each game, that’s a decent $5, and that is nowhere near my season average last year, or factoring in game used or a commemorative (which I have decided to bump up to $3 per new commemorative – example: only counting a Fenway 2012 ball once, even if I get 3 of them).  I feel like I may have a decent shot at some 2012 commemoratives, since I will be seeing the Marlins, Orioles, and AL East teams (for Fenway balls); but I don’t want to speak too soon.

Games to be attended:

  • 3/17/2013 – Twins @ Baltimore Orioles
  • 3/18/2013 – Miami Marlins @ Twins
  • 3/19/2013 – Tony @ Fort Myers Beach
  • 3/20/2013 – Tampa Bay Rays @ Twins
  • 3/21/2013 – Twins @ New York Yankees
  • 3/22/2013 – New York Yankees @ Twins

 

Well, enough of my blabbering about, after all, it’s not like I actually have any real baseball to share yet, just an announcement of future ball.  be on the look out come March, plenty of pix, videos (?!), and of course a detailed account of the games and balls snagged.  Anyone else going to Spring Training?

As always, happy hawking and enjoy your time at the park!

(This post’s thanks go out to the season of spring… thank you for bringing back the magical game of baseball!)

Leave a Reply

