The Super-Mega-Awesome-Ginormous-Happy-Fun Sized Year End Stats Show… (2013 Version)

While many ballhawks (and baseball fans in general) are more inclined to love statistics, I also understand that I may lose 99% of my audience before the end of this entry.  Why?  Stats-overload.  Unless your name is Mateo Fischer, I cannot confirm that you actually love stats as much as I do (Mateo wins in a stat-off, by the way), but the following is a good test.

Immediately following the Twins’ regular season finale, I posted a photo version of my “Year End Review,” but today it is…

Tony’s 2013 MLB Ballhawking Season… In Stat Form!

My Game Balls Overview/Ranking:

With 144 people logging one or more baseballs on this community site, here are how my numbers stack up against the group.

Total Balls:

  • Regular Season: 91
    • Rank: 23rd
  • Including Spring Training: 109
    • Revised Rank: 21st

Games Attended:

  • Regular Season: 17
    • Rank: 45th
  • Including Spring Training: 21
    • Revised Rank: 32nd (tie)

Average Balls/Game:

  • Regular Season: 5.35
    • Rank: 9th
  • Including Spring Training: 5.19
    • Revised Rank: 10th

# of 10+ Ball Games:

  •  Regular Season: 2
    • Rank: 12th (tie)

Game Balls:

  • Regular Season: 16
    • Rank: 3rd
  • Including Spring Training: 17
    • Revised Rank: 3rd

High (Balls In One Game):

  •  Regular Season: 11
    • Rank: 11th (tie)

Review:

As you can see, I made do with my lack of attendance and greatly improved upon my 2012 season in every category (just filter by the year on the MGB link above).  To be at or near the top ten in so many categories, while only being 45th in games attended is bittersweet.  On one hand it shows that I can put up decent totals, but on the other is just points out how few the number of games I attend affect my overall total.

I also realize that everyone’s categorization of what constitutes a “game ball” is different, but like I have explained before, if the Twins could sell it as a game used baseball, then I can count it as a game ball – toss-ups are more than justifiable in my book.  Sure, a gamer on the fly is much more exhilarating, but it is not the end-all be-all of gamers.

Further In-Depth Stats/Analysis (Non-Ball Specific):

Twins Record:

  • Regular Season: 6-10
    • 1 non-Twins game – Dodgers/Rockies
  • Spring Training: 7-12
    • 1 rain out

Twins analysis of Runs Scored (Based on Situational Breakdown):

  • Twins Win: 7
    • Average Score: 5.71 to 3.43
  • Twins Loss: 12
    • Average Score: 2.33 to 7.25
  • Spring Training: 3 Games
    • Average Score: Twins – 3 to Opposition – 4.67
  • Regular Season: 17 games
    • Average Score: Twins – 3.69 to Opposition – 6.06
  • Overall: 20 games
    • Average Score: Twins – 3.58 to Opposition – 5.84

Additional Non-Ball Stats:

  • Number of Teams Viewed In 2013: 16
    • Angels, A’s, Astros, Dodgers, Indians, Marlins, Mets, Orioles, Phillies, Rays, Rockies, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees
  • Number of Stadiums Attended In 2013: 5
    • Coors Field, Ed Smith (Orioles Spring Training), George Steinbrenner (Yankees Spring Training), Hammond Stadium (Twins Spring Training), Target Field
  • Games Attended By Month:
    • March: 4 (though one was rained out)
    • April: 4
    • May: 2
    • June: 2
    • July: 2
    • August: 3
    • September: 4

Further In-Depth Stats/Analysis (Ball Specific):

Number of Balls By Time of Year:

  • Spring Training: 18
  • Regular Season: 91
  • Postseason: 0 (it’s been a while since that was anything other than a doughnut)
  • Total: 109

Number of Balls By Month:

  • March: 18
  • April: 20
  • May: 7
  • June: 12
  • July: 4
  • August: 18
  • September: 30

Number of Balls By Time of Game:

  • Batting Practice: 61
  • Pre-Game: 17
  • During Game: 19
  • Post-Game: 12

Target Field-equivalent Section:

  • 7: 19 balls
  • 6: 15 balls
  • 136: 10 balls
  • 10: 9 balls
  • 131: 8 balls
  • 12: 7 balls
  • 14: 7 balls
  • Outside of the Stadium: 7 balls
  • 13: 4 balls
  • 3: 3 balls
  • 11: 3 balls
  • 138: 3 balls
  • 1: 2 balls
  • 102: 2 balls
  • 4: 1 ball
  • 15: 1 ball
  • 17: 1 ball
  • 103: 1 ball
  • 125: 1 ball
  • 128: 1 ball
  • 133: 1 ball
  • 135: 1 ball
  • 137: 1 ball
  • On the Field: 1 ball

FYI: Here is the Target Field Seating Chart…

TF Seating

Number of Balls By Method of Retrieval:

  • Toss-up: 93
  • Caught: 9
  • Easter Egg: 5
  • Worker: 2

Number of Balls By Team:

  • Twins: 65
  • A’s: 5
  • White Sox: 5
  • Indians: 4
  • Mets: 4
  • Angels: 3
  • Astros: 3
  • Marlins: 3
  • Orioles: 3
  • Tigers: 3
  • MLB: 2  (Umpires – No Team)
  • Phillies: 2
  • Rockies: 2
  • Royals: 2
  • Yankees: 2
  • Rays: 1

Average Attendance:

  • Spring Training: 7,265
  • Regular Season: 30,249
    • Target Field (16 games): 29,090
    • Coors Field (1 game): 48,794
  • Overall: 25,871

Number of Balls In One Day By Number of Occurrences:

  • 11 balls: 2 games
  • 8 balls: 2 games
  • 7 balls: 1 game
  • 6 balls: 3 games
  • 5 balls: 2 games
  • 4 balls: 6 games
  • 3 balls: 2 games
  • 2 balls: 3 games

Number of Balls By Player:

  • 6 Balls: Dominique – Twins Bat Boy
  • 5 Balls: Mario – Visitors Bat Boy, Justin Morneau
  • 4 Balls: Eduardo Escobar, Joe Mauer, Ron Gardenhire, Trevor Plouffe
  • 3 Balls: Chris Parmelee, Unknown Twin
  • 2 Balls: Brian Dozier, Nate Dammann, Oswaldo Arcia, Pedro Florimón, Scott Ullger, Target Field Grounds Crew, Unknown Tiger
  • 1 Ball: Alexi Casilla, Ariel Prieto, Brian Duensing, Casey Chavez, Chris Herrmann, Clete Thomas, Darin Mastroianni, Dave Trembley, Don Cooper, Drew Butera, Eduardo Perez, Humberto Quintero, Jamey Carroll, Javier Bracamonte, Jemile Weeks, Jerry Layne, Joe Benson, Joe Vavra, Jordany Valdespin, Kevin Kouzmanoff, Kyle Skipworth, Lance Barksdale, Liam Hendriks, Lonnie Chisenhall, Mark Salas, Michael Cuddyer, Miguel Sano, Mike Pelfrey, Mike Redmond, Paul Konerko, Perry Castellano, Rick Adair, Ruben Tejada, Ryan Doumit, Ryan Pressly, Salvador Perez, Scott Diamond, TC Bear, Tom Gregorio, Tony Oliva, Ty Van Burkleo, Yan Gomes, Yankees Grounds Crew, Security Guard, Twins Employee, Unknown, Unknown A’s lefty, Unknown Indians’ Personnel, Unknown Mets Coach, Unknown Oriole, Unknown Phillie, Unknown Rays’ Coach, Unknown Rockie, Unknown Trainer, Unknown Yankee, Usher, White Sox worker
  • Total Number of People Who Tossed Me a Ball: 73

Lists of “Firsts”:

This is the last breakdown, I swear!  If you are still reading at this point, contact me and claim your prize.  Some of these first will be kind of cool, while others will be incredibly trivial, but as a baseball fan aren’t we used to the trivial facts popping up on our screen?

2013 vs. 2012: How Much Better Was I?

The moment we’ve all been waiting for (or is it just me at this point?)…  How much did I “grow” compared to last year?  The following chart will break it down, line by line.

2013 v 2012

The End?

This post is ending, but the year in review posts are not.  I still want to give a breakdown of my donations to NAMI.org, give my annual Thanksgiving Thanks, post collages of both baseball and non-baseball things, give my top ten albums of 2013, and give a year-end recap of the blog stats for 2013.  So while this is the end of the “Ball Stats” portion, it is hardly the end of the line for this blog in 2013.

Ideas/Comments/Suggestions?

Is there something I missed?  Do you want to see more stats (I kid), or do you have an idea for my blog (blog post idea, layout, etc.)?  Contact me – via comment, Twitter, email, or in person – I’d love to hear from you!

8 thoughts on “The Super-Mega-Awesome-Ginormous-Happy-Fun Sized Year End Stats Show… (2013 Version)

  1. wow. That was pretty interesting. I guess that was my math lesson for the day! I think you should do some ballhawking analysis for the spring training stadiums you have went to. I thought you’re Target Field one was really good.

    • Since my Spring Training experience is limited, I will hold off… for now. Hopefully I can get to my 3rd Spring Training experience in a row this coming March, and if so, I just might be comfortable giving a much more in depth review of Spring Training.

      PS: I give you an “A” in your math exercise; one of the next posts will be closer to art class… more PICTURES!!

    • I look forward to the one-upping. I forgot to add the 2012 vs. 2013 comparison, so I might just have to edit this post. I have to show the growth in numbers and percentage, right?!

  2. Pingback: Plouffe’s New Hairdo’s State of the Union: A Shining Past, Present, and Future « Plouffe's New Hairdo

Leave a Reply

