2014 Spring Training Plans

To say that I am eagerly anticipating Spring Training (for the third time) would be a gross understatement.  I have literally been dreaming about it; I’ve had to paint myself a non-baseball picture, then erase them as if my mind was using Microsoft Paint, just so I can fall asleep – otherwise I daydream of baseball(s) and keep myself awake.

Exactly what am I looking forward to…?

  • Warm weather (I type this while under a Winter Storm Warning)
  • Baseball returning (before many other fans even have the chance)
  • Seeing the new improvements to Hammond Stadium (outfield seating)
  • Snagging my first ball of 2014
  • Hopefully snagging my 200th career ball (need 11 in 4 games)
  • Seeing new Twins faces (Phil Hughes, Ricky Nolasco, Miguel Sano, and Byron Buxton to name a few)
  • Meeting up with Paul – for the first time outside of Target Field for a baseball game
  • Taking MANY photos (Instagram will explode)
  • Getting back into the blogging world (not just filler)

…And which games am I going to…?

  • Sunday, March 2, 2014 – Twins @ Rays – Port Charlotte, FL (1:05 pm)
  • Monday, March 3, 2014 – Blue Jays @ Twins – Fort Myers, FL (1:05 pm)
  • Tuesday, March 4, 2014 – Twins @ Marlins – Jupiter, FL (1:05 pm)
  • Wednesday, March 5, 2014 – Orioles @ Twins – Fort Myers, FL (7:05 pm)

…Other plans/hopes…?

  • Head over to the Boston complex on March 5 with Paul for the morning workouts.  See if we can snag a World Series ball before we go over to the Twins complex for the night game.
  • Interview Trevor Plouffe – I have a decent list of questions, ranging from baseball to the random things covered in this blog (music being one of the discussion points).
  • Enjoy the non-baseball time on the game days – hit the beach, enjoy relaxing, and not make baseball the one and only thing.  Having three 1:05 games should help this plan.
  • Blog like I did last year – immediately following the game, giving a short recap and photos; then giving a much more in-depth recap after the entire road-trip.  Who knows, if I am comfortable enough, maybe try vlogging…

In the meantime (unless I get too excited and give a final pre-road-trip entry), I’ll leave you with this:

A decent amount of baseball photos in my year-long photo project from 2013.

Florida… I’M COMING TO GET YOU!!

(11 days and not soon enough)

2 thoughts on “2014 Spring Training Plans

  1. I went to my first spring training game last year. It was pretty fun, but more laid-back and relaxed than the regular season. But for me, spring training is just a countdown to Opening Day. Can’t wait. Also, nice display of the #Project365Pix thing you had going on Instagram. That was pretty awesome. Though I muted the volume before I was able to find out if that song got good or not haha.

    And I still think that ST balls should be separate from regular season. 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment, especially about the photo video.

      Have any plans of hitting up Spring Training in the next couple of years? As far as the separate from regular season – I think we can all agree to disagree, especially since there are little nuances that seem to separate just about everyone. But one thing is for sure, count the totals then let others slice it and dice it if they want/need to compare.

      I take it you are going to Opening Day. Any other big plans for 2014?

Leave a Reply

