Cardinal Sinning – Ball 302-305 (June 20, 2014)

Chicago White Sox 4 – Minnesota Twins 5

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

June 19, 2014


 

This is the story about an unplanned game.

So that’s how that happened.  I won a couple of tickets last minute for a bobblehead game.  Long lines, tons of kids, and a late start – surely this spelled certain doom.

Oh, add to that the “cardinal sin” that I alluded to… I didn’t have a glove packed and was in the work attire (dress shirt, jeans, and dress shoes).

I DIDN’T BRING A GLOVE!!  (?!?!?!)

I could not believe that I was attempting ballhawking during a crazy-busy weekend game without a glove.  That is the first thing you learn when going after a baseball – whether you consider yourself a full-on ballhawk or a newbie looking to snag that hard-to-get souvenir.

As you can tell by the title, though, I succeeded.

Ball #1:

Ball 302

A hard slice by a Twins hitter within about 2 minutes of opening the gates put me on the board.  This gave me great relief.

Ball #2:

Ball 303

A drive down the line followed by a nice request to the man in the background (this is the only photo – so good luck trying to help me figure him out) landed me a “for sure” duo.

Ball #3:

Ball 304

Short story: Dominique.

Ball #4:

Ball 305

Gamer streak lives!  A request to Oswaldo Arcia “en español” and I got this beauty of a mud-rubbed gamer.

With four balls and no glove, this night was about as good as it could have been.

Haul time!

Ball Haul June 20 2014

Four balls, 2 tickets, and a Harmon Killebrew bobblehead.

Harmon joins the slowly growing family, a family that I did not actively seek, but got lucky enough to assemble over the years.

Bobbleheads

(Side story: I won two of these, bought two – Robin Ventura and Trevor Plouffe, got two as a season ticket holder benefit, happened to attend two games to pick them up, and specifically attended one for the giveaway itself – Kent Hrbek/Ron Gant.)

Thank yous:

  • Dominique – Told you, he has a permanent spot here.
  • Random Twin and unknown White Sox member – If I knew your names, I’d list them.  But unfortunately I will never know.
  • Oswaldo Arcia – ¡Gracias, hermano!
  • Brian “Mr. Walk-off” Dozier – Thanks for signing the ball for me!  Hopefully we get you into the ASG.
2 thoughts on “Cardinal Sinning – Ball 302-305 (June 20, 2014)

  1. Nice Morneau bobble head. I have the same one in my room. Nice night and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

