The Evolution of the Tony Voda Baseball Card

In case you missed it, I now have my own baseball card.  I was lucky enough to win a contest with Topps as part of their #ToppsLive series that morphed into a Topps Opening Day 2015 insert called “Stadium Scenes”.  Mine (unsurprisingly) is of Target Field… in 2013!  It was even part of my #Project365Pix.

Why am I still so excited?  Because it was literally a childhood dream of mine to have my own baseball card.  Sure, I wanted to be on the front, in a major league uniform, and have just one stat (either a hit or 1/3 of an inning pitched), but that ship sailed LONG ago.

Before I reveal my card, which I was able to find in a pack of cards (don’t ask how many) – thus completing my elaborate dream – I want to share with you my homemade cards.  These cards are from 1991 and 1992, when I was 7-8 years old and the Twins won their last championship.

1991 Topps Homemade:

1991 Topps Front

1991 Topps Back

1992 Topps Homemade:

1992 Topps Front

1992 Topps Back

1992 Donruss TwinsFest:

1992 TwinsFest Front

1992 TwinsFest Back

2015 Topps Opening Day:

2015 Topps Front

2015 Topps Back

How cool is that?!  Sure, I understand that some of the stats do not make sense on my homemade versions, but give me a break, “Slugging Percentage” is hard for a kid to understand.  The cool thing is that I tried to use my real stats in those cards.  My numbers were not big power numbers, but I like to think that I was a solid, smart player.

Leave a Reply

