Record Store Day 2015 – Electric Fetus and Hymie’s Vintage Records in Minneapolis, MN (April 18, 2015)

Remember my post from 2013’s Record Store Day?  Man, what kind of idiot gets up at 3:30 am to go to a record store?!  Everyone knows that showing up at…

3 am? Nope…

1 am? Not even close…

Midnight? Try harder…

10 pm? Getting warmer…

IMG_3496

NINE at night, THE NIGHT BEFORE, is now considered cool!  Yes, twelve hours before the opening of the doors, I was camping out – sixth in line – for exclusive pieces of physical media/music.  Downloads?  Those are for losers and pirates.  Give me old fashioned music that I can feel and admire.

So what was on my list?

  • Courtney Barnett – Kim’s Caravan 12″ single
  • The Dandy Warhols – Dandys Rule OK 2×12″ 20th anniversary (#ed and first ever pressing on vinyl)
  • The Dresden Dolls – The Virginia Monolgues 3×12″ (#ed, combined packaging of “Yes, Virginia” and “No, Virginia”)
  • Foo Fighters – Songs From the Laundry Room 10″ EP
  • The Hold Steady – Boys and Girls In America 12″ purple vinyl re-issue
  • The Hold Steady – Heaven Is Whenever 12″ orange vinyl re-issue (this was a RSD 2010 exclusive, though different artwork and on clear vinyl)
  • Tegan and Sara – Live at Zia Records 12″ blue vinyl
  • The White Stripes – Get Behind Me Satan 2×12″ red vinyl and white vinyl (first ever commercial release on vinyl, lenticular front artwork)

Of these 8 releases, how many would you guess that I was able to score?

The answer is embedding in the (semi-)hourly breakdown below:

  • 9-9:59 pm: I show up as the 6th person in line – the other folks ahead of me arrived around 7-7:30 pm.  Person #7 shows up within 15 minutes of my arrival.
  • 10-10:59 pm: My hunger and restlessness have me dreaming of vegan doughnuts from Glam Doll Donuts (who would later make an appearance at RSD, serving only “regular” donuts).  I convince #7 that he, too, is hungry.
  • 11-11:59 pm: The walk to Glam Doll (maybe half a mile away) and Spyhouse Coffee happens.  My sharing of an extra chair pays off; #7 (who was the recipiant of said chair) buys me two doughnuts and a soy Chai latte.
  • 12-12:59 am: Craziness on Franklin Ave.  Someone has their car pulled over and subsequently searched.  We heard police yell loudly and an arrest made.  Might they have been smuggling contraband records?  Most definitely not, but jokes of those sorts were told, nonetheless.
  • 1-1:59 am: Music is still being played on a small speaker and iPod.  Emotions/nerves and caffeine are carrying those that are present (probably 30-50 by now).
  • 2-2:59 am: I lost it.  I needed some rest.  I tried to sleep at about 8 pm, thinking I would be showing up at 1:30 am, but my inability to sleep (and photos of people already in line on Instagram making their rounds/likes) “forced” me to leave a warm, comfy bed – and loving wife and dog.  I end up sleeping in a car for the first time in a LONG time… for about an hour.
  • 3-3:59 am: I think I can make it – plus, the car was getting cool, as I left my blankets on the chair in line – and I show up to hold down the line again.  After about a half an hour I go back into the car for some more sleep.
  • 4-4:59 am: I wake up after another hour of rest.  When you have an alarm set, you’d think your mind would be at ease.  It was not; Record Store Day transformed into paranoia – I thought I was going to wake up to doors already opened… this feeling happened at about a 5 minute cycle.
  • 5-5:59 am: More fun in line.  Talk with #7 and #5, guess what about… Yep, MUSIC!  We exchange more stories of RSDs, vinyl collections, and favorite bands/guilty pleasures.
  • 6-6:59 am: One last rest.  A final hour of napping in the car and all of a sudden we are at the home stretch.
  • 7-7:59 am: The line is massive.  Stretching around the corner and towards Wendy’s, my hours of waiting are suddenly validated in my mind.  “I am going to get some damn fine records,” says the motto in my brain, over and over.

IMG_3407

  • 8-8:59 am: Numbers are handed out at 8 am by the store manager and everyone is now “locked in place.”  The homestretch, which is normally brutal, proves to be a breeze.  I don’t know if it is the sleep deprivation or the fact that I had waited in line for numerous hours only days before (Opening Day at Target Field), but I rarely check my phone and time FLIES!

IMG_3497

  • 9-9:05 am: Doors open and the true test begins; will or wait prove worth it?  Will everyone get what they had hoped for?  “Are number one through five going to take my shit?!”  Calm down, Tony… #1-5 have first crack and after one leaves I am the next to enter the adult candy store.
  • 9:06-9:19 am: I search for everything on my list, finding 7 of the eight with no issue… but where is the Foo Fighters’ EP?!  It’s alphabetical, but I do not see it… Ah, yes, behind another release, with an insanely ill-sized name tent… with only two copies remaining.  SCORE!!!  Aperfect eight for eight.  If I were playing baseball, this is a game/series that folks would talk about for quite some time.
  • 9:20-9:25 am: As I exit the RSD-exclusive area, I stop by the jazz section (the store is packed and travel is not recommended).  I see no Miles Davis, but Jean-Luc Ponty is staring at me in the form of “Upon the Wings of Music.”  I see five albums at 99 cents a piece.  Jean-Luc’s posse now resides in the makeshift mancave.

IMG_3498

  • 9:26-10 am: I checked out and headed back to home.  The original plan was to go over to Hymie’s right after, but that was when I thought it’d be closer to a 11 am arrival.  instead, I agree with Jael that I would stop back home and travel as a family to Hymie’s block party.
  • 10-10:59 am: Get home, nearly pass out, regain my composure, clean up, and head back out on the road.
  • 11-11:29 am: Travel from Prior Lake to Hymie’s in Minneapolis.

IMG_3499

IMG_3500

  • 11:30 am – 1:30 pm: Attend the block party at Hymie’s.  Pick up a few used records in the store, search the free music bins outside, let Evie experience the crowds and other dogs, and have some snacks on a park bench as live music plays.

IMG_3501

IMG_3451

IMG_3452

IMG_3453

IMG_3450

  • 1:31-2 pm: Head back over to Glam Doll Donuts to get a few more pastries… for jael, of course.
  • 2:01-2:30 pm: Head back home.
  • 2:31-3:59 pm: Calm down, enjoy the doughnuts we picked up, catalog the music, and watch a little MASH.
  • 4-8:30 pm: CRASH.  Sleep never felt so good; while waking up never felt more strange and panicked.  I normally am not able to sleep very well if I take a nap during the day, but I was so drained that by 10 pm I was able to sleep like a baby again.

So would you like to see some pix of the newest members of the vinyl collection?  (If not, then please exit this post now.)

Electric Fetus Pick Ups:

IMG_3484

Courtney Barnett – Kim’s Caravan 12″

IMG_3483

The Dandy Warhols – Dandys Rule OK 2×12″ (Hand-numbered 200 of 2,000)

IMG_3482

The Dresden Dolls – The Virginia Monolgues 3×12″ (stamp-numbered 2,525 of 5,000)

IMG_3460

Foo Fighters – Songs From the Laundry Room 10″ EP (limited to 4,000)

IMG_3481

The Hold Steady – Boys and Girls In America 12″ (limited purple vinyl)

IMG_3477

The Hold Steady – Heaven Is Whenever 12″ (limited orange vinyl)

IMG_3476

Tegan and Sara – Live at Zia Records 12″ (limited blue vinyl, 4,500 copies)

IMG_3475

The White Stripes – Get Behind Me Satan 2×12″ (one red and one white vinyl)

The Jean-Luc Ponty 99 cent bargains:

IMG_3465

IMG_3464

IMG_3463

IMG_3462

IMG_3461

And a free local 7″…

IMG_3459

Charlie Parr – Over the Red Cedar 7″ (thanks RSD and those participating in MN!)

Oh, and a free slip-mat to promote Muse’s new album coming out later this year…

IMG_3485

Hymie’s Vintage Records:

IMG_3473

The Dave Brubeck Quartet – Time Out 12″ (only $2 and sold “As-Is”… well worth it for this masterpiece of an album)

IMG_3472

Miles Davis – Bitches Brew 2×12″ (under $20 for a very fine copy of another masterpiece in jazz/jazz-fusion)

IMG_3474

Various Artists? – ‘Gypsy Songs’ (Google translation tells me that the album is named ‘Gypsy Songs’, but the back of the album has more info that I have yet to decipher – this was a “wild card” pick up… totally worth it for $3!)

And now, just like any of my other posts, how about a group shot?  A look at the haul…

IMG_3448

(Three additional records are shown towards the top, but those were free ones that Jael – my wife – grabbed at Hymie’s.)

One thought on “Record Store Day 2015 – Electric Fetus and Hymie’s Vintage Records in Minneapolis, MN (April 18, 2015)

Leave a Reply

