Announcement Time! (Music, Baseball, and… Stuff?) – or: How I learned to stop being old and decided to go to the Tyte Jeff show.

Guess what…

Tyte Jeff ROCKS!!!

Again, I captured Sutured Youths from his set at The Nomad, just over 5 months after the last Tyte show I went to.  These late night “school night” shows are killer when you start to think you are turning old and lame.  We didn’t make it back home – to a very sleepy/happy puppy – until just after 2 am, but it was TOTALLY WORTH IT!

Lyrics to Sutured Youths:

When we were young we sang about youth, all brightness, fury and flame. Told all the kids to be truer and purer and fight in fervor’s name.
Got bathed in ripe booze and cheap smoke, wide eyed and huddled up close. It takes a special kind of righteous to think that nothing will ever change.
Cause we were. Confident in our confidence and certainly broke. Negligent in our negligence and certainly stoked.
Cause you want it, cause you need it and cause you’d do anything to get it. That perfect chorus, yes, I hear it breathing. That distant thunderclap is the drums.
Now we’re old and half dead, but these truths seem to last. Things spark and magic’s not fake. And our old bones can shimmy in place. Still coming on strong and hoping for the perfect song. But there’s a truth that we just can’t shake. One nothing ever could hope to replace.
Cause we were. Confident in our confidence and certainly broke. Negligent in our negligence and certainly stoked.
Cause you want it, cause you need it and cause you’d do anything to get it. That perfect chorus, yes, I hear it screaming. That distant thunderclap is the drums.
Now we’re old and half dead. Sutured youths overhead. Art really ain’t that heroic and neither is this little band. They’re just the things we do to push away this desperate feeling that we have. But there’s a truth that we just can’t shake. One nothing ever could hope to replace.

As you can see, “Tyte” Jeff (Allen) is quite the lyricist.  Many of the songs resonate so incredibly loudly with me and what I assume are similar people of my generation that are where we are in life – those that don’t really have the right to complain, since we are not living in harm’s way or poverty, but not entirely happy with the way things are (personally, politically, socially, or some other -ally word).

But Tony, you going to a show isn’t really an announcement, is it?

Thanks for paying attention, dear reader.  This isn’t the announcement of the Tyte Jeff portion of the show… yet.

Announcement #1:

Tyte Jeff will be performing at the Basilica Block Party in Minneapolis on Friday, July 10th!  Yep, the same night as Motion City Soundtrack and WEEZER!!!  My childhood favorite, Weezer, and two of my local favorites all performing on the same night.  How tyte is that?!

socially, or some other -ally word).

So, Tony, you have no other announcements or big plans until the middle of July?!  You are LAME!

You know what?  you are really beginning to annoy me, dear reader!  Can’t you just let me get my words in and form proper transitions between these disjointed subjects?!

I’m sorry about that one weird “angry reader,” but it’s the internet and there are always people trying to troll and pick fights.

Where was I?…  Oh, right…

Announcement #2:

Six days before the Tyte Jeff/Weezer/MCS show I will be going to a baseball game.  While going to a baseball game is normally not big news – after all, I go to numerous every year and this is a blog dedicated to those adventures – this game is special.  It’s a game on the 4th of July!  Wait, that’s not why it is special…

I’m going to Kansas City for the Twins game on the 4th of July!!!

And I’m going to the…

Wait, where did the interrupting angry reader go?  I thought I’d have to quickly add my next announcement to this one in order to prevent that idiot from doing his thing.

Announcement #3:

I am 95% sure that I am also going to Busch Stadium in tropical St. Lucia.  I didn’t realize that a country other than Canada had an MLB team, but apparently this Caribbean sovereign island has a team.  They must be named the Cardinals because that is where the birds migrate to.  It’s science.

My anxieties about flying will force me to drive, so we’ll see how well the car floats in the Gulf of Mexico.

(If you cannot sense the sarcasm and attempt at humor, I feel sorry for you.  Here’s the straight news: I’m going to St. Louis, probably looking at the August 17th game.)

Announcement #4:

This post is ending.

Now.

Leave a Reply

