WANTED: No Questions Asked – Balls 498-505 (September 24, 2015)

Cleveland Indians 6 – Minnesota Twins 3

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

September 24, 2015


Before I start the post with the recap of the game, notes about BP, or anything of that nature, I must say one thing…

I lost a ball.  Either that or it was stolen.  Somehow, between the end of the game and the time I got home, my total in possession went from 9 down to 8.  I was and still am upset.  Granted, the frustration and anger has subsided, but it is not gone completely.

So if you have seen or have in your possession, a game used baseball that is in a Ziploc bag with a number “6” in the upper left-hand corner, please let me know,  I shall ask no questions and give a reward.  (I also welcome the renumbering and revisions I must do to my notes.)

With that out of the way, let’s talk about the podcast, early entry, and exciting BP session…

“At the Gates” Podcast, episode four:

IMG_9426

One of those two things happened.  I’ll give you a hit, there were no cracks of the bats heard until game time.  A light drizzle, that was more off than on, canceled batting practice.  This was the second time in a row that BP was canceled at a game I went to at Target Field.  The “curse of Greg Barasch” is real.

Paul (yep, that Paul) and I got to use our season ticket holder early entry pass…

To literally see two baseball players on the field (neither with a ball).  Both were Indians; one was talking to a small group of people on the field by home plate and the other was flying a drone with a GoPro on it from the 3rd base side.  That was it, for 30 minutes.  Early entry meant being stuck in the outfield as NOTHING happened.  Hey Twins, want to improve the experience?  On days where there is no BP, maybe allow the dozen or so fans to be anywhere in the lower bowl area.  Or, if you really need to round us up, stick us behind the dugouts?

Ball #1:

IMG_9498

The first ball of the day came about 45 minutes after entering the stadium.  It took that long for players to come out and for a ball to be seen.  It was given to me by Ryan O’Rourke, who was visiting with some family/fans in the dugout.  He threw both Paul and I one, then went back into the clubhouse.  No more balls were seen for quite some time.

Ball #2:

IMG_9499

A ball from a “should-be Hall of Famer”, Mr. Tony Oliva.  he was part of a pre-game ceremony to honor Mudcat Grant – Mudcat received the 1965 AL Championship ring that was lost many years ago.  To see these two men together and the smiles beaming from their faces… it was magical.

Ball #3:

IMG_9500

CAREER BALL #500!!  Woo-hoo!  Thanks to Dom for completing the toss-up.  Kurt Suzuki tried to toss the ball my way after a strikeout in the 1st (Kyle Gibson getting Chris Johnson), but the ball went directly into the net and landed on the ground.

Ball #4:

IMG_9501

A 3-1 pitch to Chris Johnson (again!) in the top of the 5th.

Ball #5:

IMG_9502

A wild pitch (1-0 count) by Michael Tonkin to Carlos Santana… NOT THE GUITARIST… int he top of the 6th.

Ball #6:

Ghost Ball:

IMG_9503

The one that got away?  This was a 2-2 pitch by Neal Cotts to Jason Kipnis in the top of the 8th.  But due to its unknown whereabouts, I cannot count it in my collection, and therefore it goes unnumbered.

Ball #6:

IMG_9504

What I thought was the 7th ball of the night was a toss-up from Miguel Sano after the game.

Ball #7:

IMG_9505

The eighth, but the revisionists call it seventh, was another toss-up, but this time by Joe Mauer.  He had a nice pearl and no one to give it to.  He honestly looked at me like, “Please take this ball.  Please?”

Ball #8:

IMG_9506

Whether it was the ninth or the eighth, this was the final one of the night.  Another post-game toss-up, courtesy of Kennys Vargas.

The Haul:

IMG_9507

This was when I noticed I was one short.  After I got home and went to take a picture, I started to lose my… shtuff.  I poured out my bag (which has my gloves, podcasting stuff, and other random things), but there were only 8 balls, no matter how many times I counted or tried to search deeper in the bag (or in my car).  This was a bad feeling.  I had 8 bags with me, which is why the last ball doesn’t have a bag.  If you look carefully, you can see the numbers “3” and “5” in the upper left of those respective balls.  Understand why there is a hole in the unfinished square now?

#RIPBallNumber6

Recap:

Thank You:

  • Dominique – toss-up hat trick, again.
  • Ryan O’Rourke
  • Tony Oliva – GET HIM TO THE HALL!!
  • Miguel Sano
  • Joe Mauer
  • Kennys Vargas
3 thoughts on “WANTED: No Questions Asked – Balls 498-505 (September 24, 2015)

  1. That’s pretty rough to lose a ball like that. Good thing it wasn’t #500. Have you ever been to Miller Park before?

Leave a Reply

