December 13: Top Ten MLB Games I’ve Attended

Top Ten MLB Games I’ve Attended:

December 13

…and have evidence of attending, via ticket stubs…

  1. October 6, 2009 – Tigers/Twins

Game 163 at the Dome.  I highly doubt I will ever witness (in person) a more tense and critical game in my life.

  1. April 12, 2010 – Red Sox/Twins

First game at a new stadium.  First game of outdoor professional baseball in nearly 30 years.  A propellant to my born-again fandom of the Twins.

  1. July 15, 2014 – NL All-Stars/AL All-Stars

The first All-Star Game in MN in which I could form lasting memories (I would have been 1+ years old in 1985).  Also my first ever ASG in any capacity.

  1. September 28, 2011 – Royals/Twins

Twins had 99 losses going into that game.  Thanks to Trevor Plouffe’s walk-off heroics, they would stay that way and finish the season with a win.

  1. October 4, 2009 – Royals/Twins

The advertised “Last Game At the Metrodome!”  But the Twins had different plans.  The Dome was dying, but not quite yet… (See #1)

  1. September 7, 1996 – Angels/Twins

Ever see a future Hall of Famer ride around the field in a red Corvette?  I got to witness just that.  The Twins gave a Salute to Puck and he saluted back with a great ceremony (and free signed jumbo card).  I also have the Upper Deck card where he is waving to the crowd from the Corvette – my first appearance (as a speck) on a baseball card.

  1. May 21, 2010 – Brewers/Twins

I got to witness the beginning of my favorite player’s career, though I would not know his significance until a year later.  The Twins crushed the Brewers and Trevor collected his first hit and RBI.

  1. May 13, 2009 – Tigers/Twins

Walk-off grand slam?  Gotta make the top ten.  Joe Crede finished it with one swing, 14-10 in the 13th (after the Tigers took a 10-9 lead in the top of the inning).  Just think, without this clutch grand slam, the Tigers would have eventually finished a game ahead of the Twins and my #1 game would never have happened.

The following day game (which I went to, as well) saw Joe Crede’s heroics in the 7th.  The Twins came back from 0-5 and scored 6 that inning, with Crede knocking in the final two runs.

  1. May 4, 2015 – Athletics/Twins

This is the game when I knew that this was not the 2011-2014 Twins.  After giving up a grand slam in the first inning, most people thought that the Twins would lose on Star Wars night.  The Twins escaped with an 8-7 win.

  1. October 11, 2009 – Yankees/Twins

Not all games have fond memories.  This was a losing game and the end of an era – the OFFICIAL last baseball game played by the Twins in the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome.  We lost 4-1 in the trashbin of a home we called the Dome, but those great memories (1987 and 1991) happened at this very location.  My childhood love of baseball was formed at the Dome, and even though Target Field is infinitely prettier and better, I still find myself missing the Dome…

But then I remember the smells, the troughs that were called “urinals”, and the terrible teams of the mid to late ’90s.  I welcome Target Field once again.

5 thoughts on “December 13: Top Ten MLB Games I’ve Attended

  1. The day after the May 21, 2010 game, Jonathan Lucroy, my favorite made his debut in Minnesota. Thankfully the Brewers won that game.

    • It definitely is. I had a hard time keeping it off of this list, but I did something smart and made a separate top ten where it gets a very high ranking.

  2. Pingback: Discover: Monday Around the Horn « MLB.com Blogs

Leave a Reply

