Longest Toss-Up AND Opening Day 2016 at Target Field – Balls 523-528 (April 11, 2016)

Chicago White Sox 4 – Minnesota Twins 1

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

April 11, 2016


Let’s begin at the beginning… hey, that sounds like a song…

But seriously, here goes post #1 of the 2016 baseball season. Brace yourself, get a cup of tea (or coffee, if you are dissimilar from me), and put on a helpful reading playlist (like this one), because there will be plenty to read and catch up on.

Before we get too deep, let’s discuss the coolest/longest “toss-up” – a ball that started off in a state on the East Coast, found its way over to the West Coast, before finding a home in the Midwest.  This was a spring training Florida commemorative that I was bummed to see announced when I had no way of getting down there this season to snag it.  The good thing for me was that I have the coolest person on my side, someone who is attached with baseball and part of the nicest team in baseball (I use that to refer to the team name on the front AND the back of the uniform).

I can safely say that “I’m not worthy!”  But alas, the inaugural “Spring Training Commemorative Set” was completed before the season began.  Excellent!  And to top it off, I got the ball in the mail right around my birthday (and during a rough time in my life) – this gift meant more to me than just a baseball, it was a reminder that there are caring people in this world.  I hope to be able to pass on even a little bit of that feeling*.

longesttossup

* – I think I did on 8/29 when I gave a kid a baseball after he was continually being shut out during the game.  His family seemed thrilled, and I was told that he was super excited and wanted to get one so badly.  Smiles go a long way when you are enjoying a simple game that bonds generations.

Thank you, D.  Thank you.  This ball would have been going in the “special” collection even without the commemorative logo, because of the meaning and story behind it.

Fast forward a couple weeks and all of a sudden…

OPENING DAY!

A tradition shared with my buddy Jared that now spans 7 years.  I was able to snag a few baseballs (and even 3 commemorative ones) before being able to move up to where Jared and his wife Megan were sitting and just be able to talk about the craziness that was running in my head and happening in my life.  I look back at this game and think more about the conversations with them than catching any baseballs.  In fact, I don’t really even remember the details, only know what I logged on my spreadsheet (not stored in the brain).

20160411-od

Ball 1 – Todd Frazier

Ball 2 – Dominique (Opening Day commemorative)

Ball 3 – Oswaldo Arcia

Ball 4 – Miguel Sano (Opening Day commemorative)

Ball 5 – Eduardo Escobar (Opening Day commemorative)

I do remember leaving the game about midway.  Between having a dog at home and just not feeling myself with all that hung over my head, I had to check out early.

MVP Thank Yous:

  • D
  • Megan and Jared
Leave a Reply

