Derby and ASG In a Minor Key (August 1-2, 2016)

Curt Smith 2Alonzo Harris 1

CHS Field – St. Paul, MN

August 1, 2016

South 1 – North 6

CHS Field – St. Paul, MN

August 2, 2016, 2016


When an All-Star Game comes to town, you go. That’s my philosophy, at least. The All-Star Game in question was another baseball one, this time for the American Association (which the St. Paul Saints belong to). I ended up going to the ASG with Jared, but I decided to also take in the HR Derby the day before, but I went solo to that.

So let’s get straight to the point..

I called my shot.

called-shot

What I didn’t know was that this would actually happen…

See that guy with the big glove? That was me. I caught TWO HR Derby bombs with a giant glove – which isn’t easy, since they like to fly through the webbing (since it is big enough to let a ball through). And to make it even better, I caught a HR from the eventual champion and the runner-up (the runner-up being the St. Paul Saint who I said I’d catch).

Also in attendance? Nate Duppler – Target Field autograph seeker and maybe even blossoming ballhawk.  Check out his recap of the HR Derby; I know he was pretty jacked for eerily similar reasons as me.

20160801-hr-derby

The rest of the night was pretty fun, too. Mark Hamburger loved the giant glove, so he wore it for a while and as a thank you he gave me a signed ball (and mentioned they weren’t using special ones for the ASG). I also caught one during BP. Overall it was great fun – not intense ballhawking, just more about the experience and trying to then catch one during the Derby.

After the competition was over, I even got each player to sign each of their HR balls I snagged. I doubt that would ever happen at an MLB sanctioned Derby.

The next day…

20160802-asg

…was All-Star Day! I wore full catcher’s gear and looked ridiculous. But when you are at minor league games and one that is partially owned by Bill Murray, why not go a little nuts? As you can see again, the glove got some love from the players. I then caught a couple more (don’t remember how) and took in another ASG with Jared.

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Jared
  • American Association – specifically ticket prices
  • Mark Hamburger
  • Alonzo Harris
Leave a Reply

