A Torch Has Been Passed, I Can Root For Another Twins 3B – Balls 586-591 (September 9, 2016)

Cleveland (Insert New Mascot Here) 5Minnesota Twins 4

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

September 9, 2016


I will forever miss Trevor Plouffe – he will be my #1… but maybe Miguel Sano isn’t so bad. In fact, maybe this was the game where Miguel knew that I needed a third basemen to cheer for while at Twins games from this point going forward.

What am I talking about? Well, hindsight is 20/20, and I think I have cracked the code. Trevor Plouffe was hurt and I would never see him play in a Twins uniform again (barring a re-signing in the future). Miguel Sano, who was always friendly to me, kicked it into a new gear – he was going to take the torch and be my “favorite current Twin” (along with Kennys Vargas).

20160909

Miguel ended up giving me that bat towards the end of the game, but not AFTER the game – which is a first (getting one during a game) for me.

PODCAST BREAK:

GAME ON!

Ball 1 – Tommy Milone

Ball 2 – Robbie Grossman – Toronto Commemorative?!

Ball 3 – Mike Clevenger

Ball 4 – Dom

Ball 5 – Dom

Ball 6 – Joe Mauer – After the game I wasn’t expecting much. The Twins lost, which usually results in a dejected look and an understandable down attitude. So it was a surprise to look back towards the dugout and see Joe just waiting there with a ball in his hand, looking for me to make eye-contact and a look like “Do you want this?” I flashed my glove and nodded “yes”… and Joe quickly retreated into the dugout like a puppy that had done a good job. I mean this as no disrespect, it was awesome, but it was just funny, too.

BAT!! – Miguel Sano

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Miguel Sano
  • Trevor Plouffe? (For helping pass the torch, known or not.)
  • Joe Mauer
Leave a Reply

