I’m Goin’ Out West Where They’ll Appreciate Me – Balls 620-626 (April 11, 2017)

Houston Astros 7Seattle Mariners 5

Safeco Field – Seattle, WA

April 11, 2017


Wait. How did I get here?! I guess we’ll cover that in a separate “offseason” post. But no longer was I in Kansas anymore, no matter how hard I clicked the heals of my silver shoes. Hey, we can’t all be Dorothy, and why not modernize and customize my selection in footwear?

The rest though? It was pretty much EXACTLY like the Wizard of Oz. I was greeted at the gate by a couple fellow ballhawks – The Cowardly Lion (Chris) and Tin Man (Greg). Some would argue that I was playing a dual role of Dorothy and Scarecrow, but I have the shoes and I control the digital pen, so Dorothy it is! (Sorry, Chris, I don’t think you are cowardly, but I also don’t find you to be brainless, and we all know that Greg has no heart, so…)

After throwing around a sphere weighing slightly more than 5 ounces, we were let through the gates and it became official… this was the furthest west I have ever been to watch a baseball game.*

Between trying to take in the stadium and just making sure I “got on the board” (aka “snag a baseball”) I knew that this game was going to take some juggling. Safeco has a great reputation for being a gorgeous park, but also has a reputation for being a park to put up big numbers (catch lots of balls at), so I wanted to find the sweet spot that maximized both.

My approach was simple and calculated. I would try for a toss-up once inside (as the Mariners were only tossing still) – a perk of having a season ticket for a game with 3 hour early entry – then try to snag a few during Mariners’ BP, and cooling down with a walk and toss-up approach for the Astros’ portion. I thought for sure that I’d have to wait until game time for a nice commemorative ball, but was I surprised.

Chris had gone to the game the day before and noticed that the Mariners were using them in BP. I was hopeful, but not counting on them continuing that trend. I could build up anticipation, but as you could just scroll down and read or look at the picture right away and tell, there’s no use. I got one on the second ball of the day – a toss-up from Nelson Cruz.

That toss-up alleviated any anxieties I had about getting a good looking commemorative. The streak was alive, the commemorative attained, now all that was left were some fringe goals that are more greedy than basic in nature.

*A record held for a solid 48 hours, but you’ll see that blog post soon enough.

20170411

Ball 1 – Unknown Mariner

Ball 2 – Nelson Cruz

Ball 3 – Felix Hernandez

Ball 4 – Unknown Astro

Ball 5 – Carlos Muñoz

Ball 6 – Javier Bracamonte

Ball 7 – Yuliesky Gurriel – 3rd out toss-up w/ commemorative logo!

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Javier and Carlos – for continuing to be the most engaging guys in the MLB
  • Yuliesky – for the sweet commemorative gamer
  • Tin Man and Lion – for keeping the munchkins at bay and scaring away any of those flying monkeys

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

One thought on “I’m Goin’ Out West Where They’ll Appreciate Me – Balls 620-626 (April 11, 2017)

  1. Pingback: 2017… Hey! Wha’ Happened? – Plouffe's New Hairdo

Leave a Reply

