The West Is The Best – Balls 627-633 (April 13, 2017)

Colorado Rockies 3San Francisco Giants 1

AT&T Park – San Francisco, CA

April 13, 2017


I cannot hold this in: AT&T Park truly *is* as beautiful as they say. If not for the history of Fenway and Wrigley, I believe that this is the crown jewel of the MLB. Of any stadium that hasn’t celebrated 100 years, San Francisco is home to the best looking ballpark. Period.

As mentioned int he previous post, THIS was the furthest west I have ever been to watch a baseball game. In fact, unless they build a new stadium or a new team is put somewhere in Hawaii or Alaska, this will likely be the most west I will ever go for a baseball game.

Much like Safeco, I knew I wanted to be more of a spectator/tourist than a ballhawk. I took in the surroundings the night before with my little one (Evelyn), but that only reinforced that need to soak in the stadium. Seeing things from the outside just made me that much more excited, it did not quench, like I had hoped.

My approach for this game was going to be one of “ease” and “saving myself”. I was going to play for toss-ups only. I knew that the outfield areas were going to be packed and full of guys that are super good at what they do – I didn’t want to get frustrated and turn this magical moment into frustration. What I was unprepared for was the fact that not only was I the first through the gates, but I found THREE Easter eggs along the right field line within the first 2 minutes inside the stadium.

I knew that AT&T was notoriously tough, so putting up more than 1 was the goal – 4 being a GREAT day, especially if I wanted to do less ballhawking and more site-seeing.

When things were all finished, I ended up putting up a 7-spot. Insanity. This puts me at a tie for SECOND place all-time for mygameballs certified members for top games at AT&T… Luck was truly on my side.

And as I pulled away from the field and headed across the Bay Bridge to Oakland, I knew one thing… I left my heart in San Francisco.

20170413

Ball 1 – Easter egg

Ball 2 – Easter egg

Ball 3 – Easter egg

Ball 4 – Matt Cain

Ball 5 – Rockies coach

Ball 6 – Bat Boy (Giants side) – game ball!

Ball 7 – Security Guard (Rockies side)

MVP Thank Yous:

  • San Francisco – for the most beautiful stadium in the MLB
  • Baseball bunny – for the 3 eggs left behind that helped me put up such a great number

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

