*sweet guitar riffs* Welcome Home *flash the metal sign* – Balls 640-645 (April 21, 2017)

Detroit Tigers 3 – Minnesota Twins 6

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

April 21, 2017


 

 

It felt… hmmm, what’s the word I’m looking for? Not necessarily good, but not bad. It felt COMFORTABLE to be back home. I missed the thrill of seeing new stadiums, and I especially missed the beauty of AT&T Park, but it felt nice to be back in familiar territory. It felt like going to your childhood home after a long time out on your own. It gives you a good feeling, but you don’t necessarily feel like you want to become complacent again and spend all of your days there.

 

The good news was that I could once again stretch out and take advantage of knowing my surroundings. I was going to CATCH baseballs again. My goal was to continue my streaks (4+ total and 1+ gamers), but also catch at least one on the fly. I was still at zero for 2017 and I needed to get one.

And what do I do on my first ball of the night? A nice catch on the fly from the bat of Jorge Polanco in BP. YES!

Also of note: This was the 1 year anniversary of Prince’s death and so it was Prince Day in MN – including at Target Field. “Let’s Go Crazy” was played after the win and purple lights illuminated the canopy all night.

Bonus note #2: Last year I saw the Twins win ONCE at home in ELEVEN tries. THis year I saw them play for the second time and they won both games. So 2017 is already better than all of last year, at least in a Twins’ record sort of way.

20170421

Holy shit! I didn’t actually plan a big Coheed and Cambria theme for this post. I swear that it is coincidental that the album which contains “Welcome Home” is included in the photo above. It just so happened that Record Store Day was the day after this game and I camped out for it directly proceeding this game. One of the big releases I was anticipating was this re-release of one of Coheed and Cambria’s best albums “Good Apollo, I’m Buring Star IV – Volume One: From Fear Through the Eyes of Madness”. Then when I was writing this post (the same day I wrote the Oakland post, for those wondering about the “behind the scenes” process), I realized that this was my “return home” game. I wanted to include some for of home and continue the music/lyrics/song theme of the road trip posts, so what better title than “Welcome Home”?

See? Purely coincidental. I didn’t put it together until I scrolled down and saw the photo as I posted the link for the video below.

Ball 1 – Jorge Polanco – On the Fly

Ball 2 – Robbie Grossman

Ball 3 – Unknown Twin HR – Off a couple bounces

Ball 4 – Omar Vizquel (future Hall of Famer!)

Ball 5 – Bat Boy Bobby

Ball 6 – Bat Boy Bobby

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Record Store Day – for stealing my sleep after this game… and providing a nice new collection of tunes for my to spin

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

