Are We High Enough To Clear These Trees? – Balls 679-684 (May 19, 2017)

Philadelphia Phillies 7 – Pittsburgh Pirates 2

PNC Park – Pittsburgh, PA

May 19, 2017


Game 1 of what was supposed to be a 5 game/5 stadium road trip (more on that in later posts) was to take place in beautiful Pittsburgh, PA. My buddy Jared and I had spent the previous night in South Bend, IN and arrived at the hotel across from PNC only an hour or so before we went wandering around the outside to take in this new stadium. I could tell just by the outside that this was going to be a nice ballpark – the bridges, the things to see outside the stadium, and even a few establishments for eating/drinking that were built into the stadium made this more than just an inward reflection of baseball.

But without giving away future podcast material and even an “offseason” post that will rank the stadiums I’ve seen thus far, I’ll leave the stadium analysis alone.

After some sun while waiting outside, the clouds started to roll in and the threat of rain was in the forecast. This would become a theme for the trip. At one point or another, rain was in the forecast for EVERY game we had scheduled, but it really only affected batting practice once and unfortunately postponed our final stop (Cleveland) altogether. But as for BP in Pittsburgh, the skies held off and allowed me to get on the board early.

When I’m in new stadiums I tend to play it safe – toss-ups – and do not want to get in the locals’ way. This plan allows me to save myself (I didn’t want an injury to mess me up on vacation) and also allows me to take in more of the stadium. Yes, I’m about ballhawking and getting a ball at every stadium, but I also want to experience that stadium as much as possible, too. It’d be a shame for me to go after one or two extra balls but not remember what made that stadium unique/special. I think I found that balance on this road trip, even if it meant getting balls in a fairly boring way. After all, I doubt I’d set a new stadium record, so why not enjoy the complete package?

All of the balls listed after the photo were toss-ups. I told you it’d be boring, but so be it. The next time I visit these stadiums I will know a little bit more about how to play them and not feel like I have to soak in the surroundings as much.

IMG_5606

Ball 1 – Unknown Pirate

Ball 2 – Heberto Andrade

Ball 3 – Unknown Phillie

Ball 4 – Jeanmar Gomez

Ball 5 – Joely Rodriguez

Ball 6 – Larry Bowa

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Dave Dopson – for sharing your season ticket holder perks with me and getting me in the stadium early.
  • Jared – for joining me on this adventure
  • Megan – for allowing Jared to join me on this adventure

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

