Killer Parties Almost Killed Me – Balls 664-678 (May 16, 2017)

Colorado Rockies 7 – Minnesota Twins 3

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

May 16, 2017


Let’s rip the band-aid off and share the news that I’m sure everyone already knows. The Twins *did* lose this game. I know, I know, pity me and my snapped streak, as my quest for a perfect season ended. But maybe there was more that happened at this game. It’s tough to tell, but if I dig a little, I’m sure I can put together some sort of entry for this unfortunate game.

I guess there are two massive things that happened, now that I think about it. Do I go with the story of the single ball or the story of the haul? I guess we can discuss the haul first, then end with a flurry of videos and photos for the single ball.

New Target Field Record!

There it is, the massive haul resulted in a new record for Target Field (as tracked by mygameballs.com). The previous high was set by a guy that you may have heard of, ZACK HAMPLE! Zack’s record of 13 was set on June 11, 2013 – a game I also attended and put up a respectable 8 at. But now there is a new record holder, at least temporarily…

Tony Voda – 15 balls – May 16, 2017

As a mid-level ballhawk, it can be easy to have feelings of inadequacy. You are not quite to that elite status – putting up ungodly numbers and going to a crap-ton of games – but you are also fairly well-established and could at least fool people into thinking you are a good baseball snagger. When you have a game like this one you start to feel like you really belong.

Since there are 15 balls, I will not bore you with the details of each ball (a list below contains who they came from and my profile on myGameBalls also gives more detail), but I will backup and paint the picture a little clearer. Something happened at the gates that was awesome and a bit spooky. Once you start listening to Dave, Alex, Jake, and me discuss some talking points, the feeling of “calling one’s shot” comes into play.

I wanted to discuss Dave’s catching of the Byron Buxton HR from the May 2nd game as well as his Paul Molitor grand slam ball that is in the Hall of Fame. Things were going well, but the reason behind the questions was simple, I wanted to hear what it felt like again. It had been nearly 3 years since my Vargas bomb and I wanted inspiration. I even brought up on the show that it was my goal to catch a game HR again (and this time be able to keep it).

But we also got into record talk, since I put up a big number in the last game at Target Field (an 11-spot). The guys knew I was close, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t want that record, but I truly did want that game HR first…

Well, the good news is that both came true on the same day.

Gerardo Parra Goes Deep!

First off, YES, it *did* feel amazing. I am still reliving it and in awe right now. But the weird part is that I wasn’t exactly paying attention. For some reason I was looking at my phone (I think I had a notification I was checking on) and that’s when I heard a few people around me say “Uh oh!” and “Watch out!” I quickly looked in the air and was lucky enough to spot it right away – already now somewhere close to its apex. The ball kept carrying, but I still thought it was going to fall short. Plus, I was knocking into a few people, most of whom were just protecting themselves from a leather hailstone.

Then, just like magic, I throw out my glove and make a basket catch with it slapping my palm. I wasn’t sure who even hit it (again, lack of paying attention), but within a few seconds I had achieved my goal. The prophecy of the podcast had come to life and I had two people who deserved the biggest of thanks, Alex and Dave.

 

IMG_5666

And more photos about the home run itself…

IMG_5667

Ball 1 – Worker – outside the gates

Ball 2 – Unknown Twin HR (not on fly)

Ball 3 – Easter Egg

Ball 4 – Kennys Vargas

Ball 5 – Carlos Gonzalez

Ball 6 – German Marquez

Ball 7 – Target Field Grounds Crew

Ball 8 – Unknown Rockies coach

Ball 9 – Jason Castro

Ball 10 – Bat Boy (warm-up pitch before bottom of 1st by Kyle Freeland)

Ball 11 – GERARDO PARRA home run… On. The. Fly. (Off Phil Hughes in top of the 4th)

Ball 12 – Bat Boy

Ball 13 – Bat Boy

Ball 14 – Bat Boy (Tony Wolters ground out to Brian Dozier then Kennys Vargas in top of 9th)

Ball 15 – Jeff Smith

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Gerardo Parra – for the bomb
  • Dave Forstad and Alex Dehmer – for not only joining me on the podcast, but for the congratulations and overall positivity you guys put back into the ballhawking community

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

One thought on “Killer Parties Almost Killed Me – Balls 664-678 (May 16, 2017)

  1. Pingback: Rockies vs. Twins – 5/16/17 | everythingtwinsballhawk

Leave a Reply

