Bang Pop Pop, When Does The Searchin’ Stop? – Balls 685-690 (May 22, 2017)

Colorado Rockies 8 Philadelphia Phillies 1

Citizens Bank Park – Philadelphia, PA

May 22, 2017


Game 2 of the East Coast road trip took place in the Always Sunny Philadelphia, PA. After spending the night in Pittsburgh Friday night, Jared and I went to Washington, DC in order to see some non-baseball stuff. We spent plenty of time at the monuments, but still didn’t see all the city had to offer, but it was still cool to see the big things in person. Then on Sunday afternoon we arrived in Philly, just enough time to get our stuff together and for me to get a few record stores under my belt. I had went to a couple in DC as well, so it was cool to see the difference in these two cities (word to the wise: Philly is cheaper for vinyl, and the places I went to had some really cool stuff).

But the sun that greeted us Sunday afternoon slowly turned to grey skies and wind that evening, and when we got up on Monday it was worse. All warmth was gone and as we spent time trying to hit up the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, and the Rocky steps, the rain started as sprinkles and grew to steady downpour.

We suddenly found ourselves in the AirBnB with time on our hands for the first time this trip, so what did we do? We got some food, watched Master of None, and tried taking a nap. This was just enough to recharge as we tried to hope away the rain.

Eventually the rain subsided, just as we showed up to CBP. I was hopeful that batting practice would happen ad the rain was all but gone and the radar was looking much better (even though the clouds were not going anywhere). But after recording our podcast and waiting it out at the left field gates, I was disappointed upon entry.

Tarp on the field and not a soul to be seen in uniform. My anxiety over getting a ball was now the highest it has been in quite some time. Outside of the nerves of acquiring a commemorative, this was the first time I could remember worrying about getting shut out in something. So I did what I thought was best and made my way over to the Rockies’ dugout closest to the field in order to be able to look in. Maybe this would help me work a ball from SOMEONE, given that ANYONE would come out early. Oh, and I might as well bust out the big glove for extra measure.

After well over 30 minutes inside the stadium (maybe closer to an hour?), I was hooked up with a ball from the Bat Boy who was not yet in uniform. The big glove worked and my nerves were calmed.

The rest of the story was uneventful, as it involved toss-ups and rain. But at the end of the game I was rewarded with a free pretzel, since the Phillies apparently don;t want food to go to waste and give it to people as they exit the stadium. Or maybe that was a localized/one-off case. Either way, I got free sh*t and that makes me happy.

Repeat from previous post: All of the balls listed after the photo were toss-ups. I told you it’d be boring, but so be it. The next time I visit these stadiums I will know a little bit more about how to play them and not feel like I have to soak in the surroundings as much.

IMG_5607

Ball 1 – Bat Boy – Visiting Team (Rockies)

Ball 2 – Gerardo Parra

Ball 3 – Tony Diaz

Ball 4 – German Marquez

Ball 5 – Bob Stumpo

Ball 6 – Stu Cole

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Gerardo Parra – for acknowledging me for my catch of your HR in MN a few days prior
  • Jared – for joining me on this adventure
  • Megan – for allowing Jared to join me on this adventure

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

