The Sun Doesn’t Rise – Balls 706-710 (May 29, 2017)

Houston Astros 16 – Minnesota Twins 8

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

May 29, 2017


The king returns…

OK, that might be an exaggeration and definitely not how I actually view myself, but hey, we can all inflate our egos a bit, right?

It felt good to be back home. Wait, no it didn’t. I still wanted to see new stadiums. Target Field was boring me before this trip and scratching the itch only made it worse. I had so many more fields to daydream about and a few recent ones I was planning return trips to in my head. But I was on a mission, get one of those green balls.

What?! Green balls?! Yep, all of the MLB would be using a “commemorative” ball on Memorial Day, one that had green print instead of blue and alternating green/brown laces instead of red. Think of the Mothers Day ball but camo instead of pink.

The marketing behind the camo was blowing up in New Era and MLB’s faces though. Each team tweeted out a weird video that made some pretty general correlations between military service and buying a “special hat”. Let’s just say that when honoring those we’ve lost (no matter how they were lost) it is best to do so WITHOUT trying to sell products in their name/honor. Remember this if you are entering the marketing world.

Much like my road trip, rain was not only in the forecast, but affecting the game. The Twins played a 15 inning marathon the night before and since it was a day game, I was already assuming no BP. This was mainly correct until about 30 minutes after gates opened the Astros decided they wanted to send a group to take some BP. The stands were full of folks already taking their seats and it was only for one group. I sat this round out and just worked for more of those toss-ups. After all, I really only wanted the commemorative.

I extended my streak with relative ease and quickness by getting a Jose Berrios warm-up ball that got away from Ben Richardson down the first base line. Then a little later I caught up with Javier Bracamonte who hooked me up with a FL commem after he got done tossing BP.

Then I completed my mission… thrice. (And ate a wonderful Italian Sausage from The Herbivorous Butcher’s stand behind section 129!)

I don’t want to discuss the game. It was the worst collapse I’ve ever witnessed in person. It was historic, and not just at a personal level.

IMG_5605

Podcast from the gates of Progressive Field (aka: The Rain Out in Cleveland)…

Podcast from the gates of this game…

Ball 1 – Jose Berrios

Ball 2 – Javier Bracamonte

Ball 3 – Bat Boy

Ball 4 – Chris Gimenez

Ball 5 – Bat Boy

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Bobby – for hooking me up with this commemorative right away

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

One thought on “The Sun Doesn’t Rise – Balls 706-710 (May 29, 2017)

  1. Pingback: 2017… Hey! Wha’ Happened? – Plouffe's New Hairdo

Leave a Reply

