Do The Hustle! – Balls 721-734 (June 14, 2017)

Seattle Mariners 6 – Minnesota Twins 4

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

June 14, 2017


I kinda feel like a hustler out there. Putting up big numbers is a new thing to me and kind of a new thing to Target Field. For the fourth time in five games, I have hit double digits at Target Field and my average in that time-frame has been 11. That is insanity.

After being “outscored” by the Twins last night, I came back for the second straight day and put up a total that beat both teams combined. I wonder how common or rare that is. (Stats nerds of myGameBalls, please look this up.)

The real treat was being reunited with an old familiar face… PAUL KOM! We had quite the crew at the game, since Jared joined me, then we met James and Paul at the gates, and finally, Mateo came during batting practice. If only we had Alex and David at this game, it could have been pretty much every Target Field “regular”.

Unfortunately, the Mariners were all out of commemorative balls (maybe because I went home with 6 last night?), but the good news was that their generosity was still quite high. If you are going to any Mariners games on the road, and are looking to score a commemorative ball, I’d recommend going to one of the first two games of their road trip. After that, it seems like they run out.

Lastly, touching on my rather large total, I’m glad I actually didn’t tie or break my record on this night. Having a game home run as part of the record-setting night at Target Field feels pretty special. Had there not been such a wicked ricochet on the Eduardo Escobar home run to the flag court, I may have been holding a game home run in one of these photos and talking about a record night. But those are the hops/bounces you can’t plan on. Catching them on the fly is where it’s at… even if the majority of my balls are HUSTLED.

20170614

Podcast from the gates of this game…

Ball 1 – Tony Zych

Ball 2 – Unknown Mariner

Ball 3 – Jarrod Dyson

Ball 4 – Unknown Mariner

Ball 5 – Unknown Mariner (caught on the fly)

Ball 6 – Unknown Mariner

Ball 7 – Mike Hampton

Ball 8 – Ariel Miranda

Ball 9 – Ehire Adrianza

Ball 10 – Eduardo Escobar

Ball 11 – Bat Boy

Ball 12 – Joe Mauer

Ball 13 – Miguel Sano

Ball 14 – Twins Clubhouse Worker

BATTING GLOVES! – Jason Castro’s by way of the Bat Boy

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Paul – for gracing us with your presence

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

