If I Had A Dog I’d Take A Picture Everyday – Balls 735-743 (June 18, 2017)

Cleveland 5 – Minnesota Twins 2

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

June 18, 2017


First and foremost, Happy Father’s Day to all who are a father figure. I may not be a full-fledged father myself, but I am a dog-father and like the title of the post (Frankie Cosmos lyrics), I actually do take a picture of my little Evelyn everyday. Look in the photo below to see the “Father’s Day” pose.

In years past, Major League Baseball has acknowledged fathers and even started to wear blue (similar to the pink on Mother’s Day), but for the first time ever…

BLUE BASEBALLS WERE GOING TO BE USED!

Major League Baseball has been trying to appeal to younger fans and also capitalize on memorabilia/merchandise sales. By showing that the league is not set in its old ways and trying new things, I think baseball is slowly catching up to where other leagues have already gone. I would talk more about the recent development of the “players weekend”, but that is discussed in this episode of At The Gates, so listen to the podcast for that take.

Going back to the game itself and the baby blue baseballs, I will admit my nerves were rather high. It had been a while since I attended a Sunday game, and knowing that BP wasn’t happening and that the crowd was expected to be well into the 30K range, it all felt like it was going to be a slow day…

And it was, but it wasn’t. I didn’t get on the board until about 30 minutes after gates opened. A few players had their kids on the field with them as they played together (Ervin was pitching to his little ones, while Jeff Smith hit pop ups to a group of kids). After stumbling to 4 balls in pre-game warm-ups, I finally saw the Father’s Day balls come out. This was the reason I was there, to get my hands on one of those.

Luckily I got Kennys Vargas to hook me up with one and then another from the ball boy shortly after. That was it. In fact, they even ran out of commemorative balls either during or before the 7th inning.

The unrealistic goal of getting nine balls this game was purely so that my average would be a perfect 8.00 in 16 games this season. I thought 5 would be good, but there I was at 6 before the first pitch was even thrown. I didn’t think I could hit the target, but getting close to 7 or 8 would mean my average would be in a good position to hit 8.00 during the next game I attended.

But I was wrong. I got 3 after the game (again, no commemorative) and somehow hit 128 balls this year in 16 games… EIGHT BALLS PER GAME. On. The. Nuts.

This year has been insane for me. Much of it is luck, while the other part is just being more open to going to games. I am probably half-way through the season (at least for games I have left on my list), but even if I tail off a little bit, I think I can have a pretty special season. I’ve already passed many of my personal milestones, and we aren’t even to the All-Star break. My previous high of 123 regular season balls in a year has been beaten, my average is the highest it’s been this late int he season, and my game total is trending into uncharted territory.

After the game I got to hang out with Evie some more and even went over to J. Selby’s for some Buffalo wings. Go check them out, the food is phenomenal – especially the SoyClones!

IMG_6126

Podcast from the gates of this game…

Ball 1 – Ehire Adrianza

Ball 2 – Boone Logan

Ball 3 – Ricky Pacione

Ball 4 – Twins player’s kid

Ball 5 – Kennys Vargas

Ball 6 – Bobby

Ball 7 – Bobby

Ball 8 – Hootie

Ball 9 – Hootie

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Dad – for all the times you threw to me as I tried to become a big league baseball player

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

