I’m Your National Anthem, God, You’re So Handsome – Balls 755-758 (July 4, 2017)

Miami Marlins 5 – St. Louis Cardinals 2

Busch Stadium – St. Louis, MO

July 4, 2017


Stadium #9 of 2017. Not bad, eh? I’m beginning to understand what Zack Hample feels like… kind of.

Why St. Louis though? And why the hell a day game?! Well, I was already planning on doing the July 5th game in Atlanta, so I decided to look at St. Louis, since it was literally on the way to Atlanta – I’ve driven past and seen it every time I drove down to Florida for spring training. Turns out they had a game on the 4th and the fact that it was a day game actually helps, since it is quite a trek via the US highway system to SunTrust Park.

Plus, I really wanted to go to a Fourth of July game. Because I’m just so damn patriotic. Well, maybe not because of patriotism, but DEFINITELY for a red and blue stitched commemorative ball. This is the last in a series of FOUR holiday balls that Major League Baseball is using. I got a Mother’s Day ball the first year in use, then a Memorial Day and Father’s Day this year (first year in use), so here I was, in a foreign stadium, trying to complete the scavenger hunt.

And to cut the suspense, I will tell you now…

Mission Accomplished

There was no BP, however, so getting a decent total was out of the question. This was expected, since it was a day game, but still a bit of a bummer. I scrambled to assess the situation and after getting skunked on the 3 balls in use on the Marlins’ side, I went over to where Mike Leake was warming up on the Cardinals’ side.

I ended up getting that Leake ball because of the giant glove. I’m not ashamed to admit it. That giant glove will help me get balls in away stadiums until I complete the 30 stadium tour. If I need a prop to stick out, then so be it. A middle-aged dude without kids is not the best target for a player to toss a ball, so I’ll do what it takes to stick out.

After that ball I ended up getting one from the bullpen around the national anthem. *press play on the Lana Del Rey song below* Sitting on two before first pitch with a great shot of getting a gamer felt like a solid total for such a hard stadium AND no BP.

And then the special ball came into my life. I felt like that guy who sees someone he likes but is too afraid to say anything. He isn’t a creepy stalker, just a dude who is bad at pick-up lines and a bit shy. He sees the person that he wants to know more, but they don’t know I exist… yet. I put myself in a good position to finally introduce myself and…

OK, Martin Prado tossed me the ball at the end of the 1st inning. I didn’t have to wait very long and my pick up move (getting noticed) worked better than I had expected. HE SAID YES! Sitting in the first row, literally touching the dugout with a giant glove and decked out in a Marlins hat, jersey, and orange blazer may have helped.

After that I got to enjoy a full game of baseball as the Marlins cruised to a victory. Then after the game I got one more ball from a dugout worker. Figured it wouldn’t hurt to ask, and it didn’t.

IMG_6674

Oh, I almost forgot… I finally got to see the Arch up close and personal. It’s more impressive than I thought it’d be. I would have spent more time there but they are doing construction so it is closed, plus it was already ball-sweating hot (at only 9 am).

The MLB Holiday Collection – available exclusively at MLB ballparks. Collect all four!

IMG_6670

Podcast from the gates of this game…

Ball 1 – Mike Leake

Ball 2 – Brian Schneider

Ball 3 – Martin Prado

Ball 4 – Marlins dugout attendant

 

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Martin Prado – for the commemorative ball I was chasing

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

One thought on “I’m Your National Anthem, God, You’re So Handsome – Balls 755-758 (July 4, 2017)

  1. Pingback: 2017… Hey! Wha’ Happened? – Plouffe's New Hairdo

Leave a Reply

