Don’t Mug Yourself – Balls 765-772 (July 18, 2017)

New York Yankees 6 – Minnesota Twins 3

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

July 18, 2017


Back home again. With this game I can say that, once again, I have finally gone to more home games than away games (11 home, 10 away), but that will be short-lived. I normally don’t like to go to games that will be an utter zoo, but these young Yankees deserved my attention… and Target Field got a lot sexier.

With Aaron Judge in town, I wanted to see what all the hype was about. The original plan was to go to the Monday game, but instead I had to deal with a diva for a dog. That’s right, my pup got to play a crucial role in an upcoming music video! She joined a few other dogs at a dog park as Koo Koo Kanga Roo shot a video for a new song called “Puppy”. Once it is released you can be assured that I will share it on this blog. But for now, you’ll have to accept the behind the scenes look as captured by me.

A brief teaser for the @kookookangaroo Puppy music video. So many cool pups, so many new friends!

A post shared by Evelyn Nibbler (@evelyn_nibbler_voda) on

Thanks @kookookangaroo! Pretty sure I am getting an IMDB page after my involvement in the best music video ever.

A post shared by Evelyn Nibbler (@evelyn_nibbler_voda) on

How cute is that puppy?! She’s the best. For it being such a hot and humid day, she did a fantastic job. Don’t worry, there were plenty of water breaks, treats, and wonder pups and humans that made the experience enjoyable for EVERYONE involved. I honestly think the dogs loved being spoiled and the center of attention (not that Evie is anything but those two). And if she weren’t enough of a diva and spoiled little lady, I will also confess to buying a bottle of water at the gas station on the way home. I wanted to reward her with the coldest and most satisfying bowl of water possible. She loved it.

So that was the reason why Monday was off the table, then add to the equation that Wednesday was a day game, and I couldn’t even make it to a game during the next series (Friday through Sunday)… well, I had to go on Tuesday. Bartolo was just an added bonus.

I knew the game was going to be heavily attended when the gates were much fuller than normal already at 4 pm. Many of those people were wearing Yankees gear, but I am happy to report that everyone got along nicely.

Once gates opened at 5 (for season ticket holders only), I rushed to the RF overhang and found an easter egg right away. I am fairly certain that it was placed there in a similar fashion to how I got ball number two, a Gene Glynn “home run” as he tried to warm up Max Kepler with some fungo hits off the wall.

And then that was all I got throughout BOTH BPs. The overabundance of people (especially children) kept me from touching another ball. I came close by calling out Caleb Smith and having him toss one to me, but he airmailed it and it went a couple rows behind me and into the arms of some old man. Caleb apologized, but never tossed up a “make up” ball. Dang. So it goes.

I thought the night was going to be tough and that I might be able to luck out and get a total of four, since I could usually count on a couple from the dugout area. Instead, I was able to maintain my near 8 ball average by getting SIX more balls from the dugout area. A combination of Bat Boy, Eduardo Escobar, and Joe Mauer all provided me with a VERY nice output for a Yankee game.

IMG_6908

NO PODCAST FROM THIS GAME! Sorry, but the chaos at the gates made it tough to try to record, plus I didn’t have much to talk about. I could have speculated about Big Sexy and Judge BP, but I’d rather talk about that experience on the next episode/next game.

Ball 1 – Easter Bunny

Ball 2 – Gene Glynn HOME RUN

Ball 3 – Bat Boy

Ball 4 – Bat Boy

Ball 5 – Bat Boy

Ball 6 – Eduardo Escobar

Ball 7 – Bat Boy

Ball 8 – Joe Mauer

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Koo Koo Kanga Roo – for allowing my puppy to be part of your video and therefore allowing me to see this game (and, in a way, go home with 8 baseballs)

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

