One Look Sends It Coursing Through the Veins (Oh, How the Feeling Races) – Balls 779-788 (August 7, 2017)

Milwaukee Brewers 4 – Minnesota Twins 5

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

August 7, 2017


Decipher the lyrics in the title of this blog post and you’ll find that the band referenced is none other than the Arctic Monkeys. And if you know anything about this band, you’ll know who their lead singer is. But before I reveal the name, I’ll recap my night at Target Field and finish with why the name of the lead singer is significant/important.

So here it is, the story of a boring ten-spot. I make no claims of being the best at what I do or being the most skilled. I think I could hold my own, but my lack of competitive drive keeps me in a comfortable mid-achievement level. I don;t want to be the crazy old guy who gets accused of knocking over kids in BP, or the one who gets hurt because he’s dumb. I’m fine milking those extra toss-ups that might otherwise end up back in the ball bucket/bag. I’ll go for the open spaces and make a great effort during games, but the rest of the time it’s about having fun while other spectators also try to take home a part of the game.

The first three balls I got came well after 5:20, so the early entry perk for the STHers was almost a dud. I got one right before gates opened on a toss-up, then one right after gates opened via the same method, and finally, more than a round of BP later, I got my final BP toss-up from Oliver Drake. Oliver was being heckled for a ball but the person asking was calling him the wrong name. He turned around and said, “I’m not (inaudible name)…” and so I quickly interjected, “Oliver, any chance please?” He liked that I knew his name and it paid off.

Lesson: Do your homework (or have the roster pulled up on your phone). Many of the guys are wearing BP pullovers with their number sewn on front. It’s a simple and quick exercise to look them up before shouting a name.

Shortly after that, I made a couple bad plays – maybe they happened before the Oliver ball, who knows – with one ball falling short and me falling over a row of steep seats in right-center, and another being tossed non-glove side and me bobbling it barehanded. But I redeemed myself by snagging an Eric Thames HR that was hit just to my right. I drifted a few feet over and told the people around me “Got it! Watch out!” and voila, caught in the ol’ catcher’s mitt.

After that I got 3 more toss-ups during the game and then three more after the game. None of these have a rich and deep history. I only saw one game ball that had a very meaningful story…

Remember the Arctic Monkeys? Did you look up who their lead singer is? It’s Alex Turner. Nope, he isn’t a ballhawk, but if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll know that Target Field has its own Alex. The nicest ballhawk at Target Field (and possibly that I’ve ever met), whose name means “defender of man” or “protector of mankind”, has made it a goal to catch a game home run this year. He’s been close and he’s even been there for my two catches in the past. Like I said, he is the nicest and chillest dude – he’d gladly spend an entire double-header in the overhang at Target Field, even if there were no HRs hit that day. Alex is just that dedicated.

Unfortunately for Alex, he had to go through some rough travels to get to Target Field (read his blog/account of the game here). But I told him that he was going to be rewarded with a game HR ball for his troubles. I could feel it, I really could.

Then in the top of the third Keon Broxton unloaded on an Ervin Santana pitch. It went high and deep and was caught by a guy in a white shirt…

Wait a minute, that looked like Alex!…

Holy sh*t! That’s Alex! I know it’s him! (As I look from the lower deck behind home plate.)

I quickly sent him a message of congratulations and even sent over a message to David Forstad (who is a close second for nicest and most positive hawk) asking to confirm my shocked eyeballs.

So here it is, in all its glory. A perfectly caught HR by the soon to be North Carolina-bound Alex!

Perfect positioning + lots of luck = 1st game HR. Great end to my season! Thanks @mr.broxton9ec and @ervinsantana_54!

A post shared by Fan, Ballhawk, and Collector (@everythingtwins) on

Congrats, buddy! You clearly went out with a bang. For one of your last games at Target Field, you couldn’t have scripted a nicer catch.

IMG_7247

NO PODCAST FROM THIS GAME! Sorry, but I’ll be recording one at a better location two days after this game.

Ball 1 – Robinzon Diaz

Ball 2 – Lee Tunnell

Ball 3 – Oliver Drake

Ball 4 – Eric Thames (BP HR on the fly)

Ball 5 – Bat Boy #1

Ball 6 – Bat Boy #1

Ball 7 – Bat Boy #1

Ball 8 – Bat Boy #1

Ball 9 – Eddie Guardado

Ball 10 – Bat Boy #2

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Alex – for allowing me to witness history

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

