Still Runnin’, Still Runnin’, Still Runnin’, Still Runnin’… – Balls 795-801 (August 15, 2017)

Cleveland 8 – Minnesota Twins 1

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

August 15, 2017


Just an average day at the ballpark. Nothing too exciting happened other than a couple personal milestones:

  • Most balls in a single season: Previously 180 (2014)
  • My 800th career ball

My alignment with 1000 balls and all 30 MLB parks should be pretty close, considering I plan on cutting back on the number of home games I go to next year. Sorry, Target Field, it’s not you, it’s me. I want to align these two things as closely as possible because…

…BIG ANNOUNCEMENT TIME…

…all indications point towards me “retiring” from catching baseballs at games. I may try to catch a commemorative from time to time and also keep up catching a ball or two at any new stadiums that are built after I’ve hit all 30 franchises and hit 1000, but I think one thousand is a nice round number to end things on.

I wasn’t planning on having this big news hijack a game post, but it’s a poorly kept secret at this point. I wanted to do a post dedicated to this news at the end of the season, but oh well. The excitement of hitting one of my last milestones (800th ball) led my brain and typing fingers into this topic.

As for the balls at this game, I’m happy to report that I was able to flash the leather a bit. I love catching baseballs – I mean CATCHING baseballs. I caught the first and third balls of the day on the fly, hit by Jorge Polanco and Carlos Santana, respectively. The rest of the baseballs were the typical hustling type that I end up doing. Every ball has a story and those stories are kept in a spreadsheet, but some stories are much cooler than others; tonight’s balls had two good stories out of seven.

After the game I also was tossed a pair of Brian Dozier batting gloves. This makes 16 pairs of batting gloves (and 3 miscellaneous individual gloves) in my “career”. Once this hobby comes to a close and I have a more permanent place, it’ll be cool to see what kind of display I can put together with all this stuff.

IMG_7347

NO PODCAST FROM THIS GAME!

Ball 1 – Jorge Polanco (on the fly)

Ball 2 – Robbie Grossman

Ball 3 – Carlos Santana (on the fly)

Ball 4 – Eduardo Escobar

Ball 5 – Bat Boy

Ball 6 – Bat Boy

Ball 7 – Bat Boy

MVP Thank Yous:

  • H – for more cool stuff, like balls and gloves

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

