Never Want to Say We’re Sad, Thankful That We Got Some Chance – Balls 802-809 (August 18, 2017)

Arizona Diamonbacks 3 – Minnesota Twins 10

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

August 18, 2017


Another average day at the ballpark, though I was thankful to see Ron Gardenhire again. Ron had a bit of a health concern earlier in the year (prostate cancer), but has since gone through treatment and appears to have improved his health in more ways than one (he’s looking fit). Since it was Twins Hall of Fame Weekend, that meant that the inductees would be present on Saturday and Sunday, but for Friday evening it was all about one man – Rod Carew.

Rod had a heart transplant earlier and the Twins honored him and the young man’s family who donated the heart, along with raising awareness for transplants in general. While talking about and thinking about that kind of stuff makes me uneasy and can sometimes trigger my anxiety, I’d like to at least share a link that seems helpful in understanding the transplant process, and likely helps people dig deeper into how they can help…

TRANSPLANT INFORMATION

But as I said before, the outcome of the game (on a personal ballhawk level) was rather uneventful – it was alarmingly average. I finally got a baseball from the Diamondbacks, which leaves just the Dodgers and Reds as the remaining who have yet to toss/hit me a ball.

Oh, plus it was a bobblehead day (along with fireworks night), so that meant crowds were large and catching anythign on the fly was tough. I tried my best, but nothing flew in my area. However, I did spot (and eventually talked to) Ben Stevenson. Ben is a ballhawk from Canada (closer to Comerica than Rogers Centre), so if you see him in your stadium, please give him a high five and welcome him.

IMG_7379

NO PODCAST FROM THIS GAME!

***warning: the song below (and quoted in the title) is amazing and precautions should be made before this life-altering first listen***

Ball 1 – Kyle Gibson

Ball 2 – Tony Perezchica

Ball 3 – TJ McFarland

Ball 4 – Ehire Adrianza

Ball 5 – Bat Boy

Ball 6 – Bat Boy

Ball 7 – Joe Vavra

Ball 8 – Bat Boy

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Ehire Adrianza – for being quite generous and kind to me lately

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

