We A Famly – Balls 842-851 (September 12, 2017)

San Diego Padres 0 – Minnesota Twins 16

Target Field – Minneapolis, MN

September 12, 2017


Target Field is really beginning to feel like a sanctuary, almost a true second home. With any safe space like this the sense of belonging is high, which also breeds the feeling of…

FAMILY!

Or, if you want to listen to the awesome song by the Flaming Lips below, “We A Famly.”

We didn’t have the entire gang at the game, just like it is nearly impossible to have the whole extended family come back for Thanksgiving, but we had a very nice turnout, great discussions, and working on creating the generally positive environment.

I was the first one at the gate just before 4 pm, but within a half an hour I was joined by nearly everyone else within a span of a couple minutes – Jared, Dave, James, and semi-new to the crew (at least on this blog), Michael. Jared doesn’t consider himself a ballhawk, and Michael says he’s more of an autograph-collector, but we are an open bunch – and all of us have a few balls to our names. I’d give the rundown of what we talked about, but maybe you should just listen to the embedded podcast below and subscribe to it on iTunes.

I was excited to return to Target Field because it had felt like forever. I had waited about a week since my last game, and even then, it was in Cincinnati, so that made my last visit to my home stadium feel like months. Another aspect that intrigued me was that the last time the Padres were in town I had something special happen for the very first time. It was back in 2014 and you might just want to click this sentence to find out/remind yourself. Not that I was expecting history to repeat itself, but I had better show up just in case.

Plus, I figured I had an outside shot of putting up double-digits for the third straight game, setting a new personal record. Hey, you can’t put up the numbers if you don;t show up!

Well, I’ll let you eventually scroll down to the “ball list” to see how many I snagged, or you can do the math via the title of the post to find out, but let’s cover the events of the game itself…

  • The Twins set a new Target Field record for most home runs hit in a game (7)
  • The Twins set an MLB record for most consecutive innings with a home run to start a game (7)
  • The Twins were one run away from tying their team record for biggest blowout shutout (set only a few days ago at 17-0).

Unfortunately, none of those HR balls went home with me. Do not say I didn’t try, though. I played the flag-court area for 6 innings and in the 7th inning my boy, Kennys Vargas, decided to go deep in his pinch-hitting/replacement-for-Joe Mauer appearance. His HR went into the upper deck of right field, so I would have had no chance at it. Brian Dozier’s landed about 10 feet short of going into the flag-court plaza area (and I was right there), while Eduardo Escobar’s sailed over the FSN booth in right field as I chased over to catch it off the bounce (a bounce that never happened, as it was snagged off the short-hop).

I tried. I came somewhat close. It wasn’t that I made bad plays, they just weren’t hit at me. And that’s OK. You cannot catch them all (even if you want to).

PS: It was Wild Night at Target Field, so the Minnesota Wild were being paraded around and talked about. Three guys from the team were doing some promotional stuff before the game (Jonas Brodin, Matt Dumba, and Mikael Granlund), so I thought it’d be interesting to get them to sign a ball. There is a joke somewhere in there about going to a baseball game in Minnesota and getting hockey players’ autographs.

IMG_7963

Podcast from the gates of this game…

Ball 1 – Unknown Padre

Ball 2 – Jose Valdez

Ball 3 – Unknown Padre HR in upper deck RF

Ball 4 – Darren Balsley

Ball 5 – Eduardo Escobar

Ball 6 – Bat Boy

Ball 7 – Bat Boy

Ball 8 – Bat Boy

Ball 9 – Kennys Vargas

Ball 10 – Bat Boy (autographed by him, too)

*NEW PERSONAL RECORD! THREE DOUBLE DIGIT GAMES IN A ROW!*

 

MVP Thank Yous:

  • Bat Boy Supreme – for the tenth toss-up, keeping the streak in tact and setting the new record

As you may have been able to tell, I am running low on storage space via WordPress. I have resorted to posting one collage per post, but I miss having extra pix, especially showcasing some panos from new stadiums. If you have a good work around or would like to see them posted somewhere else, let me know. If interest is high enough, I could be swayed to additional platforms.

Leave a Reply

